top of page

COVID-19 and a life update

This COVID-19 situation has been tough for the past few months. I haven't been able to enjoy a whole lot. I started my summer semester at college in late May and I've had to do it all from home which would seem fine for most programs, but I find myself completely unmotivated to do anything.


The weather is warm so I always want to be outside, but I don't want to leave the property and socialize with almost anyone. It poses a challenge as a journalism student who is supposed to look for new stories. I don't want to put myself in a situation where I could get me or anyone in my family sick. It makes school a little more difficult, but I find things to make it work.


Other than school, I don't really have too much to look forward to. My boyfriend finally got to go back to work (which is a good thing and I'm happy for him) so I don't get to see him quite as much. It really sucks that I don't get to hold his hand or hug him.


My one chance to do that was on my 20th birthday. My mom and sister went to the dollar store (I think) and got me a raincoat. Basically, they gave me the opportunity to hug my boyfriend. So, when he came over, I put on my raincoat and my mask, and I hugged him. I know he wasn't totally thrilled about the layer of plastic between us, but it was better than nothing. I got to hug him and it was the best present I could've asked for in this current time.


The never-ending list of things to do on our small hobby farm continues to grow every day. My mom is working on our office and great room to prepare for a shipment that will be coming from Bermuda, filled with stuff that we brought there and is coming back. My sister, Megan is building tack lockers for the tack room to keep our barn a little more organized.


Vertigo

On top of that, one of our cats has disappeared, leaving us with two kittens to finish raising and putting back as barn cats. We did look for the mom (our cat Tiger), but our two boys, Mischief and Vertigo were the two surviving kittens from a litter of four. Vertigo is a little extra work for us because he appears to have an ear infection alongside his head tilt and blindness in one eye. He's liking not going to stay being a barn cat because of these things. Our other mama cat, Cow, has finally shown us her kittens, one male and one female.

This is Mischief

With all these cats in the barn, we're going to have to rehome some. We want to keep the males so we don't end up with more kittens, but we're now faced with a new problem: five baby raccoons and their mom have decided to move up into our hayloft. They're not only a threat to the wellbeing of our cats, but they're troublemakers. They can also ruin our hay, so they need to be relocated.


Of course, when we thought the couldn't get any longer, a tree fell down onto our electric fence so it needs to be cleared and the mending of the fence needs to be added to the sublist of fence-mending that needs to be done.


There are other things on the list, but doing them comes ways down the line. They get to happen once other things happen first.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page