top of page

Dangle's Release of "This Team is Ruining My Life".

For those who are familiar with hockey in Canada, they know names like Ron MacLean and Don Cherry from Hockey Night in Canada is in the intermission. Family members are quieted down when “Coach’s Corner” comes on to hear Cherry and MacLean bicker about different things happening within the NHL, but Ron MacLean admits in a book review to hushing his own family when a certain Sportsnet reporter makes an appearance on television. This reporter is none other than Steve “Dangle” Glynn, an eccentric journalist who broke into the sports media scene in the typical 21st century way: YouTube.


Steve Dangle started making videos about the Toronto Maple Leafs while he was still in his teens. While his first video was barely 16 seconds long, it began the story of how he found himself in the sports media industry making videos, podcasts, and releasing his book at the age of 31. His book, titled: This Team is Ruining my Life (But I Love Them) was published by ECW Press on March 19.


“I was really excited. For some reason, writing a book is something I was starting to think about every day. Once the initial high subsided then I started to worry about how to actually write a book,” Dangle said, during an interview, describing of his first thoughts when he found out he was going to write the book.


For nearly a year, Dangle updated his supporters about the progress of his book, but he had a lot of support from his friends and family during the writing process.


Dangle’s work on YouTube is what got him his start as a sports reporter, alongside internships with Sportsnet 590 the Fan during university. Now he’s a part of Sportsnet’s Ice Surfing, a show reviewing every hockey game on that is streamed on Twitter every Tuesday night. Since then, he’s worked with reporters such as Ron MacLean and Elliotte Friedman.


Dangle also hosted 251 episodes of his podcast, the Steve Dangle Podcast, with radio host Adam Wylde and producer, Jesse Blake. The three men discuss all aspects of hockey, while occasionally being sidetracked by reality television or even Dangle taking an extended amount of time to eat a pepper.


“My wife was definitely a huge motivator she was incredibly supportive and pushed me though a lot of whiney days. My parents grew more and more as an inspiration throughout the process because I was looking back on things I experienced when I was younger from a more mature perspective. I always respected them, but I respect them so much more now. The same goes for any former bosses or teachers I might have butted heads with. It’s definitely not a book about bragging. It’s about being honest with the mistakes I’ve made along the way.” Dangle said, reflecting on the process.


Following the release of the book, Dangle noticed his fans were not getting the books they had ordered in advance. People were saying their order had either been cancelled or was going to take months to arrive. Dangle contacted ECW Press to discover that his book was so popular, the first print – of 5,000 copies – sold out.


“I was disappointed. It’s a helpless feeling because there isn’t much I can do about it other than kick up a stink. I’m glad it’s resolved now. People told me to be happy that the book was selling so well, which caused the issue in the first place, but I wrote the book so that people could read it, not so it could sit in a warehouse.” Dangle said.


Since discovering the popularity of his book, Steve reached out to his supporters informing them of what was happening. ECW Press has printed more books and are in the process of redistributing the book so the customers can finally get it.


Dangle started his book tour on March 28 at the Indigo at the CF Eaton Centre and will be travelling around the province to sign books.


The release of This Team is Ruining My Life (But I Love Them)”was a major success for ECW Press, but more importantly, it brings together those who look up and support to Steve “Dangle” Glynn closer to understanding who he is behind all the screaming about the Leafs.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

New Adventures

For as long as I can remember, I've known myself to be constantly passionate about two things in my life. Creativity and writing. When I...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page